Jubilee Hall Ensemble

Aldeburgh Jubilee Hall, Aldeburgh, IP15 5BN
Thu 18th July 2019 - Thu 28th November 2019

18 July
Following on from the sextet concert in September last year, this performance features three string sextets by Richard Strauss, Bohuslav Martinů and Antonín Dvořák.
Scored for two violins, two violas and two cellos, the sextets perfectly complement one another, bringing together music from Germany and Czechoslovakia from the late 19th and early 20th centuries.

26 September
This performance brings together chamber music from the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries.
Mozart’s concerto-like Flute Quartet in D major opens the programme, followed by Britten’s Three Divertimenti for String Quartet – three character pieces intended as ‘pleasing entertainment’. To finish is Schubert’s final chamber work, his String Quintet in C, scored for standard string quartet plus cello.

28 November
The final performance of the Series, this programme explores chamber music by Mozart, Saint-Saëns, Debussy and Roussel.
The last of Mozart’s three flute quartets, written in C major, is coupled with Saint-Saëns’ single-movement Fantaisie for violin and harp, a virtuoso piece for both players in the first half. After the interval, Debussy’s Sonata for flute, viola and harp, written as part of a set of chamber works for ‘diverse ensembles’ is followed by Roussel’s ‘mini symphony’, his Sérénade for flute, violin, viola, cello and harp.

Google map static shot of Aldeburgh Jubilee Hall, Aldeburgh, IP15 5BN
Share this event