St Albans Symphony Orchestra: Vaughan Williams and Dvorak

St Albans Symphony Orchestra

Vaughan Williams: Five Variants of Dives and Lazarus
Dvořk: Serenade for Winds
Dvořk: Symphony No.7

Conductor: Tom Hammond

Five Variants of Dives and Lazarus is a work for harp and string orchestra, based on a folk tune. Vaughan Williams composed the work on commission from the British Council to be played at the 1939 Worlds Fair in New York City.

Dvořks Serenade for Winds evokes the atmosphere of the musical performances in Baroque castles, where the worlds of the aristocracy and the common folk merged. His Symphony No.7 is characteristic for its dramatic expression and sombre atmosphere of uncertainty and defiance. It is a profoundly intimate work where the composer ponders the meanderings of his soul and the answers to elementary issues of human existence.

St Saviour's Church, Hertfordshire on Saturday 10 March 2018
Starts at 7:30PM
Ticket Price: 1.00 - 16.00*
*booking fee applies