A brand-new addition to our mini-tours series; beginning on Pocra Quay near the site of the original Block House, a stone fort first erected in the 15th century to protect the city from "English invaders", we follow the fall and rise of the fisher residents of the Kirktoun of Futty, who forced the council into providing them a new home when harbour development threatened to obliterate the old village of Pockraw in the late 18th century.
Featuring the picturesque Fisher Squares, designed by city architect, John Smith aka "Tudor Johnny", who also designed the new St Clements' Kirk in 1828. Including the sad tale of Fittie's tragic harbour master, widowed, blighted by wreck after wreck on his watch, and finally disciplined by the Board of Trade, he finally worked himself to death. (a brand new tale)
A gentle amble round this historic site - but please remember, these are homes, not tourist attractions, do not pry into windows, or disturb residents.
Meet in front of the War Memorial, Pocra Quay, on seafront. Tour ends at Round House.
Tickets available for the special price of £5
Dogs welcome if well-behaved