Bristol Concert Orchestra & Matthew Barley: Walton & Tchaikovsky

St George's Bristol, Bristol, BS1 5RR
Sat 7th December 2019

Bristol Concert Orchestra • Matthew Barley (cello) • Stefan Hofkes (conductor)

Saturday 7 December, 2019
St George's Bristol, 7.30pm

Kabalevsky Colas Breugnon Overture

Walton Cello Concerto

Tchaikovsky Symphony No.5

The rollicking overture to Colas Breugnon by Kabalevsky raises the curtain on this winter-warmer concert of Anglo-Russian greats.

Walton's Cello Concerto may be more lyrical, expressive and even introspective, but as Walton wrote to Piatigorsky (who had commissioned the work) 'I think it's the best of my three Concertos – but don't tell Jascha' (Heifetz, for whom Walton composed his Violin Concerto).
Renowned cellist Matthew Barley makes a welcome return to play this ravishingly beautiful work, and whose 'Discovering Music' programme discussing this work can be heard online at the BBC website.

To finish, a true classic in Tchaikovsky's 5th Symphony, overflowing with drama, sweeping melodies and emotional intensity from the very opening bars right through to the triumphant rollercoaster finale.

** Other seats are available from St George's Bristol online [click here] or by phone (0845 40 24 001) or in person at St George's Bristol box office **

Google map static shot of St George's Bristol, Bristol, BS1 5RR
Share this event