TicketSource

Elizabeth Macneal - The Doll Factory

Elizabeth Macneal joins us to discuss her brand new novel The Doll Factory over a delicious cream tea.

Perfect for fans of Jessie Burton (The Miniaturist, The Muse) and Sarah Waters (Fingersmith, The Little Stranger), The Doll Factory is the intoxicating story of a young woman who aspires to be an artist, and the man whose obsession may destroy her world for ever.

London, 1850. The greatest spectacle the city has ever seen is being built in Hyde Park, and among the crowd watching two people meet. For Iris, an aspiring artist, it is the encounter of a moment - forgotten seconds later, but for Silas, a collector entranced by the strange and beautiful, that meeting marks a new beginning.

When Iris is asked to model for pre-Raphaelite artist Louis Frost, she agrees on the condition that he will also teach her to paint. Suddenly her world begins to expand, to become a place of art and love. But Silas has only thought of one thing since their meeting, and his obsession is darkening .

“An astonishingly good debut” (Elizabeth Day, author of The Party).

"A sharp, scary, gorgeously evocative tale of love, art and obsession" (Paula Hawkins, author of The Girl on the Train).

Ticket price includes a cream tea and a personally signed hardback copy of the book.
Forthcoming Dates
Elizabeth Macneal - The Doll Factory All Saints Church
Penarth