Waterloo Festival - Chamber Concert: Asyla Ensemble

Ravel: Pavane pour un infante défunte
Schoenberg: Piano Concerto
Finnis: in situ
Gershwin: Rhapsody in Blue
Oliver Till conductor
Returning to the Waterloo Festival, the Asyla Ensemble pairs two 20th-century piano concertos, George Gershwin’s legendary ‘Rhapsody in Blue’ and Arnold Schoenberg’s rarer ‘Concerto for Piano’, with shorter works by Edmund Finnis and Maurice Ravel.
The works in this programme are connected by the notion of transforming bodies, explored both in the reworking of ancient musical DNA (in Finnis’s work), and in the transcription of original pieces, such as the Ravel that opens the concert.

About Asyla Ensemble 
Founded in 2013 by a group of friends who enjoy playing together, the Asyla Ensemble presents thought-provoking programmes which place the composers and their works in an accessible context.
Forthcoming Dates
Waterloo Festival - Chamber Concert: Asyla Ensemble St John's Waterloo